Menu

NEW REVIEWS OF MOVIES YOU CAN SEE AT HOME

My colorful partner Grae Drake (of Rotten Tomatoes) and I are back on ReelzChannel with a new half-hour show in which we review recent theatrical releases that are now available for home viewing, thanks to Video on Demand (VOD).

If you haven’t yet seen The Witch, Deadpool, 10 Cloverfield Lane, Zootopia, Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, How to be Single, Hail, Caesar! or Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, tune in and you’ll hear our friendly debates about the merits of these films. (Spoiler alert: we both liked Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, a good movie that failed because people expected an out-and-out comedy with Tina Fey in the leading role.)

If you’d like to see sample segments from the show, click HERE.

And if you’d like to watch the entire program, check out ReelzChannel on DirecTV channel 238, Dish Network 299, AT&T U-verse 799 or 1799, Time Warner 128. To see if your local cable provider offers Reelz, click HERE.

Here are show times for the new special:

7/21:    7:30am ET/4:30am PT

7/23:    3:00am ET/12:00am PT

7/25:    3:30am ET/12:30am PT

7/30:    10:30am ET/7:30am PT

7/31:    10:00am ET/7:00am PT

Leonard Maltin is one of the world’s most respected film critics and historians. He is best known for his widely-used reference work Leonard Maltin’s Movie Guide and its companion volume Leonard Maltin’s Classic Movie Guide, now in its third edition, as well as his thirty-year run on television’s Entertainment Tonight. He teaches at the USC School of Cinematic Arts and appears regularly on Reelz Channel and Turner Classic Movies. His books include The 151 Best Movies You’ve Never Seen, Of Mice and Magic: A History of American Animated Cartoons, The Great Movie Comedians, The Disney Films, The Art of the Cinematographer, Movie Comedy Teams, The Great American Broadcast, and Leonard Maltin’s Movie Encyclopedia. He served two terms as President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association, is a voting member of the National Film Registry, and was appointed by the Librarian of Congress to sit on the Board of Directors of the National Film Preservation Foundation. He hosted and co-produced the popular Walt Disney Treasures DVD series and has appeared on innumerable television programs and documentaries. He has been the recipient of awards from the American Society of Cinematographers, the Telluride Film Festival, Anthology Film Archives, and San Diego’s Comic-Con International. Perhaps the pinnacle of his career was his appearance in a now-classic episode of South Park. (Or was it Carmela consulting his Movie Guide on an episode of The Sopranos?) He holds court at leonardmaltin.com. Follow him on Twitter and Facebook; you can also listen to him on his weekly podcast: Maltin on Movies. — [Artwork by Drew Friedman]

2 comments

  1. susan satz says:

    so glad you are doing movies again. i was sorely disappointed when you stopped with your print guide of movies. i have been dependent upon them for many, many years. they were in every room, so happily i have the last two or three years still around. now i will be up-to-date again.

    don’t ever stop.. your reviews are to the point, clear and fair.

  2. Peter says:

    You said that “Whiskey Tango Foxtrot” failed because people were expecting more comedy. I got the same impression from “Our Brand Is Crisis” because the negative blurbs on its Rotten Tomatoes page all said about the same thing: the satire wasn’t biting enough. But I didn’t see it as a satire. I saw it more as a straight-ahead comedy/drama and thoroughly enjoyed it. I think the problem is that, whenever a movie is about politics, people assume that it either has to be a searing drama or scathing satire.

Leave a Reply

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER

Ad

PODCAST

 photo MALTIN_ON_NOVIES_AD2_zpsboz6pvfm.png

PAST MALTIN ON MOVIES PODCASTS

APPEARANCES/BOOKING

 photo MALTIN_APPEARANCESON_NOVIES_AD_v2_zpscy41sntv.png

Ad

CALENDAR

September 2017
S M T W T F S
« Aug    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930